Technology research · Physical AI · Deep Dive

GAA and backside power delivery

Next-gen transistor/power-routing architectures for leading-edge logic

Universe
Physical AI
Layer
AI Factory & Cloud Training Infrastructure · Edge Compute & Control Silicon
Mapped
11 companies
Tier
Deep Dive

AI-assisted research and editing. This edition consolidates earlier analysis and retains its original source dates. Research methodology

Executive summary

Gate-all-around (GAA) transistors and backside power delivery networks (BSPDN) are two separate but now-converging scaling technologies for advanced logic. GAA replaces the FinFET fin with a stack of silicon nanosheets or nanowires fully surrounded by the gate. Backside power delivery moves the power-distribution network from the front of the wafer to the back, freeing routing resources for signals and allowing wider, lower-resistance metal rails.

The strongest evidence for GAA feasibility is the peer-reviewed IEDM 2017 paper by Loubet et al. showing stacked Si nanosheet transistors can extend scaling beyond FinFETs [S1]. IRDS 2022 argues these are system-level scaling levers [S2]. Company disclosures from Samsung, Intel, and TSMC are Tier 2 self-reported claims and must be cross-checked against SEC filings [S3][S4][S5][S6][S7]. A granted patent is evidence of allowed claims, not evidence of yield, performance, or commercial viability; any patent cited here must be treated that way.


Technology background

2.1 GAA transistor structure and electrostatic rationale

In a FinFET, the gate wraps three sides of a thin vertical fin. As gate length scales below roughly 12–15 nm, control of the channel degrades: drain-induced barrier lowering (DIBL) rises, subthreshold swing worsens, and leakage increases. GAA surrounds the silicon channel on all four sides, improving electrostatic integrity at short gate lengths.

Subthreshold swing is bounded by:

\[

SS = \frac{kT}{q}\ln 10 \left(1+\frac{C_d}{C_{ox}}\right)

\]

The ideal room-temperature limit when \(C_d \ll C_{ox}\) is about 60 mV/dec. GAA maximizes \(C_{ox}\) per footprint and reduces drain coupling, allowing operation closer to the ideal limit than FinFETs at the same gate length. Loubet et al. reported stacked nanosheet transistors with below-FinFET leakage and improved short-channel control [S1].

Key structural elements from the Loubet paper include:

  • Vertically stacked Si nanosheets released by selective removal of sacrificial SiGe layers.
  • Inner spacers to control gate-source/drain parasitic capacitance.
  • A gate stack that surrounds each nanosheet on all four sides.
  • Epitaxially merged source/drain regions.

IRDS 2022 lists gate-all-around nanosheet devices as a required evolutionary step in the “More Moore” roadmap, alongside buried power rails and backside power delivery [S2].

2.2 Backside power delivery (BSPDN)

Conventional chips route both power and signals on the frontside metal stack. Power rails occupy metal tracks that compete with signal wiring. As pitches shrink, frontside power rails become narrow and resistive, causing IR drop and routing congestion.

BSPDN moves power delivery to the backside of the wafer:

  • Power rails are placed on the wafer backside after thinning.
  • Through-silicon or backside vias connect the frontside transistors to the backside metal.
  • Buried power rails can run under the transistor layer.

Intel’s implementation is marketed as PowerVia [S4]; imec has demonstrated backside power approaches for scalable logic [S8].


Source evidence and cross-checking

3.1 Tier 1 evidence

Peer-reviewed paper:

  • Loubet et al., “Stacked Nanosheet Gate-All-Around Transistor to Enable Beyond FinFET Scaling,” IEDM 2017. DOI: 10.1109/IEDM.2017.8268383. This is a peer-reviewed conference paper with measured transistor data. It supports the feasibility claim that vertically stacked Si nanosheets can provide better electrostatic control than FinFETs at scaled dimensions [S1].

Standards-body roadmap:

  • IEEE IRDS 2022 More Moore. IRDS is produced by IEEE volunteers; it is a standards-body-class roadmap document. It places GAA, buried power rails, and backside power delivery on the scaling roadmap [S2].

Granted patent candidate:

  • US 11,264,510 B2, “Backside power delivery for integrated circuit devices,” Intel Corp., granted 2022-03-08. Identifier resolution needs primary source validation. Even if valid, this is evidence of a recorded claim, not proof that Intel achieved commercial PowerVia yield or performance [S9].

A second patent candidate is Samsung’s US 10,566,567 B2, “Semiconductor device,” granted 2020-02-18. Identifier resolution needs primary source validation. Use only as a patent-class reference, not a performance source [S10].

Discipline note: A peer-reviewed paper with measured transistors is stronger than a patent for “is this feasible?”. A standards-body roadmap is stronger for “what does the industry expect next?”. A patent is strongest only for “what claims does an assignee own?”.

3.2 Company disclosures and cross-checks

Samsung announced 3 nm GAA mass production on 2022-06-30. The press release claims 45% lower power, 23% higher performance, and 16% smaller area compared with 5 nm FinFET, all self-reported [S3]. These numbers are not independently verified in the same release, and Samsung did not provide yield data. Treat as Tier 2 self-reported marketing.

Intel’s PowerVia announcement claims backside power delivery enables higher frequency and density; Intel separately disclosed it demonstrated a 6% frequency gain in a test chip, self-reported [S4]. Intel’s 10-K risk factor language is much more cautious: process-technology transitions may be delayed, may not achieve expected performance, and may require costly redesigns [S6]. That is the expected discrepancy between marketing and filed disclosure.

TSMC’s technology page describes its N2 nanosheet node and relative speed/power trade-offs, but it does not disclose yield or BSPDN-specific commercial metrics [S5]. TSMC’s 20-F discusses advanced-node ramp and capital intensity at a high level, not per-node yield [S7].


Quantitative worked calculation: frontside vs. backside rail IR drop

Question: How much can a backside power rail reduce voltage drop compared with a frontside rail of the same length?

Formula:

\[

R = \frac{\rho L}{W t}

\]

\[

\Delta V = I R

\]

Where:

  • \(R\) = resistance
  • \(\rho\) = bulk Cu resistivity
  • \(L\) = rail length
  • \(W\) = rail width
  • \(t\) = rail thickness
  • \(I\) = current per local rail

Inputs:

ParameterValueUnit
Bulk Cu resistivity, \(\rho\)1.68µΩ·cm
Rail length, \(L\)10µm
Frontside rail width, \(W_f\)32nm
Frontside rail thickness, \(t_f\)40nm
Backside rail width, \(W_b\)100nm
Backside rail thickness, \(t_b\)120nm
Current per rail, \(I\)1mA

Conversion and area:

  • \(L = 10 \,\mu m = 0.001 \,cm\)
  • \(\rho = 1.68 \times 10^{-6} \,\Omega{\cdot}cm\)
  • Frontside cross-section: \(W_f t_f = 32 \times 40 = 1280 \,nm^2 = 1.28 \times 10^{-11} \,cm^2\)
  • Backside cross-section: \(W_b t_b = 100 \times 120 = 12000 \,nm^2 = 1.20 \times 10^{-10} \,cm^2\)

Frontside resistance:

\[

R_f = \frac{1.68 \times 10^{-6} \times 0.001}{1.28 \times 10^{-11}}

= 131.25 \,\Omega

\]

Backside resistance:

\[

R_b = \frac{1.68 \times 10^{-6} \times 0.001}{1.20 \times 10^{-10}}

= 14.0 \,\Omega

\]

Voltage drop at 1 mA:

\[

\Delta V_f = 0.001 \times 131.25 = 0.1313 \,V

\]

\[

\Delta V_b = 0.001 \times 14.0 = 0.0140 \,V

\]

Reduction:

\[

0.1313 - 0.0140 = 0.1173 \,V

\]

The backside rail reduces IR drop by 89% in this simplified example, with a resistance ratio of 9.4×.

Sensitivity:

  • If frontside width/thickness is ±20%, \(R_f\) ranges from about 109 Ω to 164 Ω, so \(\Delta V_f\) ranges from 0.109 V to 0.164 V.
  • If backside width/thickness is ±20%, \(R_b\) ranges from about 11.7 Ω to 17.5 Ω, so \(\Delta V_b\) ranges from 0.012 V to 0.018 V.
  • If effective Cu resistivity doubles in narrow frontside lines due to barrier/liner and surface-scattering effects, \(R_f\) becomes about 262.5 Ω and \(\Delta V_f\) becomes 0.2625 V. Backside lines are wider and may suffer less from the same size-effect penalty, so the benefit could be larger.
  • At 2 mA per rail, voltage drops double: 0.263 V frontside vs. 0.028 V backside.

Caveat: Real BSPDN includes via resistance, contact resistance, decoupling capacitance placement, wafer-thinning cost, and thermal constraints. The calculation shows the first-order interconnect benefit, not a full pathfinding result. Rail dimensions are assumed from published BSPDN concepts; they are not a direct measurement from any single source.


Parameter table

ParameterValueSourceTierMeasured/derived/assumed/inferredCross-verified
Subthreshold swing ideal~60 mV/dec[S1]1Derived from physicsYes, formula
GAA electrostatic controlBetter than FinFET at scaled gate length[S1]1Measured transistor dataSingle-source
GAA roadmap placementMore Moore scaling path[S2]1Standards-body roadmapYes, industry standard
Samsung 3 nm GAA power reduction vs 5 nm45% self-reported[S3]2Self-reported marketingNo; needs primary source validation
Samsung 3 nm GAA performance gain vs 5 nm23% self-reported[S3]2Self-reported marketingNo; needs primary source validation
Intel PowerVia frequency gain6% self-reported[S4]2Self-reported tech testNo; needs primary source validation
Frontside rail width32 nmAssumed from BSPDN concepts2/assumedAssumedNo
Frontside rail thickness40 nmAssumed from BSPDN concepts2/assumedAssumedNo
Backside rail width100 nmAssumed from BSPDN concepts2/assumedAssumedNo
Backside rail thickness120 nmAssumed from BSPDN concepts2/assumedAssumedNo
Bulk Cu resistivity1.68 µΩ·cmStandard materials data1/standardMeasured reference valueYes, standard
IR drop reduction9.4×, 89%Derivation in §4DerivedDerived from formulaNo measurement

Unit economics / business model

Who monetizes this technology?

  1. Foundries — TSMC, Samsung Foundry, and Intel Foundry monetize GAA/BSPDN through advanced-node wafer sales and design-enablement/NRE. TSMC’s 20-F discloses that wafer sales are the core revenue model and advanced nodes carry high capital intensity [S7]. Per-wafer prices for N2/3 nm are not separately disclosed; any widely quoted dollar figure is needs primary source validation.
  1. EDA and IP vendors — Synopsys and Cadence license tools and IP for GAA and backside power/thermal signoff. Their exposure is indirect but real: GAA forces standard-cell and power-grid re-architecture.
  1. Equipment and materials suppliers — ASML, Applied Materials, Lam Research, KLA sell lithography, deposition/etch, and metrology tools capable of nanosheet release, inner spacers, backside via alignment, wafer bonding, and thinning.
  1. Chip designers and system companies — Fabless customers capture value through better performance per watt and lower IR drop, but they pay for it in higher wafer/NRE costs.

Value capture is not evenly distributed. The foundry with a working GAA/BSPDN node has pricing leverage. The equipment suppliers benefit before yield is proven because advanced R&D lines require tools regardless of customer chip volume. Patent owners do not automatically capture revenue unless a license or litigation strategy exists.


Disconfirming evidence

The GAA/BSPDN thesis would weaken or fail if:

  1. No measured yield curve: Samsung or TSMC fails to disclose sustained advanced-node GAA yield at commercial economics.
  2. Backside power costs exceed benefits: Wafer thinning, backside alignment, and thermal management costs make BSPDN net neutral or negative for power and area.
  3. GAA electrostatic advantage disappears at system level: If standard-cell height, interconnect, and parasitics eliminate the transistor-level gains claimed in [S1].
  4. Customer adoption stalls: Fabless customers stay on older FinFET nodes longer because GAA/BSPDN design complexity or NRE outweighs power/performance gains.
  5. Patent evidence is invalidated: The candidate patent claims are not usable or are proven invalid/narrow; patent ownership is then not a moat.
  6. IRDS roadmap changes: A future IRDS edition removes GAA/BSPDN as a required path or replaces it with a superior architecture.

01

Mapped companies

Public and private companies referenced in this research, linked to their canonical PXS Research profiles.

CompanyMarketResearch roleCurrent state
ZinitePrivateDevice/technology layer for the semiconductor industry: supplies a manufacturable 3D-transistor building block that fabs and IDMs can integrate into existing flows.Company profile
Applied Materials (AMAT)PublicGAA and backside power delivery | Advanced deposition - etch - CMP - thermal process toolsHOLD · reviewed
ASML Holding N.V. (ASML)PublicPOOL candidate (pool_migration 2026-08-11)POOL · reviewed
KLA Corporation (KLAC)PublicAdvanced deposition - etch - CMP - thermal process toolsHOLD · reviewed
Broadcom (AVGO)PublicGAA and backside power delivery | 800G and 1.6T optical interconnectHOLD · reviewed
INTEL CORP (INTC)PublicSovereign Cloud & Classified ComputeWATCH · reviewed
LAM RESEARCH CORP (LRCX)PublicAdvanced deposition / etch / CMP / thermal process toolsWATCH · reviewed
Marvell Technology (MRVL)PublicCustom AI accelerator (XPU) silicon | 800G and 1.6T optical interconnectHOLD · reviewed
NVIDIA Corporation (NVDA)PublicGPU and AI accelerator platforms (Blackwell/Rubin) | DSX AI factory | CUDA software ecosystemHOLD · reviewed
ON Semiconductor (ON)PublicSiC and GaN power semiconductorsHOLD · reviewed
TAIWAN SEMICONDUCTOR MANUFACTURING CO LTD (TSM)PublicAdvanced deposition / etch / CMP / thermal process toolsWATCH · reviewed

Sources

27 cited sources used to define and evaluate this capability.

  1. sec.govSEC Applied Materials 10-K FY2025Open source ↗
  2. sec.govSEC KLA Corp 10-K FY2025Open source ↗
  3. sec.govSEC Lam Research 10-K FY2025Open source ↗
  4. sec.govSEC ASML 20-F FY2025Open source ↗
  5. ieee-iedm.orgIndustry IEEE IEDM 2025 — GAA and BSPDN PapersOpen source ↗
  6. sec.govIntel 10-KOpen source ↗
  7. sec.govTSMC 20-FOpen source ↗
  8. sec.govAMD SEC filingOpen source ↗
  9. sec.govNVIDIA SEC filingOpen source ↗
  10. sec.govQualcomm SEC filingOpen source ↗
  11. sec.govApple SEC filingOpen source ↗
  12. sec.govBroadcom SEC filingOpen source ↗
  13. sec.govASML SEC filingOpen source ↗
  14. sec.govApplied Materials SEC filingOpen source ↗
  15. sec.govLam Research SEC filingOpen source ↗
  16. sec.govKLA SEC filingOpen source ↗
  17. sec.govSynopsys SEC filingOpen source ↗
  18. sec.govCadence SEC filingOpen source ↗
  19. tsmc.comhttps://www.tsmc.com/english/dedicatedFoundry/technology/logic/l_2nmOpen source ↗
  20. intel.comhttps://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/foundry/process/powervia.htmlOpen source ↗
  21. news.samsung.comhttps://news.samsung.com/global/samsung-electronics-begins-chip-production-using-3nm-process-technology-with-gate-all-around-architectureOpen source ↗
  22. intel.comhttps://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/newsroom/news/powervia-backside-power-delivery.htmlOpen source ↗
  23. imec-int.comhttps://www.imec-int.com/en/articles/imec-demonstrates-backside-power-delivery-for-scaled-logicOpen source ↗
  24. ieeexplore.ieee.orghttps://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/8268383Open source ↗
  25. irds.ieee.orghttps://irds.ieee.org/editions/2022/more-mooreOpen source ↗
  26. patents.google.comhttps://patents.google.com/patent/US11264510B2/enOpen source ↗
  27. patents.google.comhttps://patents.google.com/patent/US10566567B2/enOpen source ↗
The weekly brief

Get a weekly digest of what’s changing.

Research updates, thesis changes and company developments. One email a week.