Scope and source note
This note covers the manufacturing and assembly scaling of humanoid robots, with emphasis on the gap between marketing statements, filed SEC disclosures, and the weaker signals that a patent actually provides. I use the strongest sources available: a granted U.S. patent, a DOI-verified IEEE humanoid-robotics conference paper, ISO safety standards, an arXiv preprint labeled as preprint, company press releases/technical disclosures, a U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wage dataset, and SEC EDGAR filings.
I flag a source as “needs primary source validation” wherever I could not live-verify the exact title, assignee, grant date, or page text during this pass. A patent number alone is not treated as proof of performance or commercial viability.
What the strongest source classes actually support
1.1 Granted patent evidence: recorded IP, not manufacturing feasibility
A relevant granted U.S. patent in the humanoid/legged-robot actuation class is:
- US 10,118,279 B2 — patents.google.com
Grant date: 2018-11-06 (title/assignee/grant-date verification: needs primary source validation)
Access date: 2026-04-26
The key interpretive point is that a granted patent is evidence of a recorded legal claim, not evidence that the covered mechanism can be manufactured at scale, sold profitably, or deployed safely. The patent class matters here because hydraulic humanoid actuation has historically delivered high force density but at the cost of complex seals, hoses, pumps, assembly labor, and maintenance. Those are exactly the properties that make humanoid manufacturing scaling difficult.
The contradiction in the record is material:
- Boston Dynamics built hydraulic Atlas; hydraulic actuation is represented in the patent class above.
- Boston Dynamics later retired the hydraulic Atlas and introduced an all-electric Atlas, stating that the new platform is “stronger, more dexterous and more agile” and built for commercial applications.
Source: Boston Dynamics, “An Electric New Era for Atlas,” 2024-04-17, bostondynamics.com — self-reported company marketing/engineering disclosure, Tier 2.
That pivot is not disclosed in the patent itself. The patent, if anything, demonstrates an IP moat around an older actuation architecture rather than proof that the architecture is the best way to scale assembly. Investors and research analysts should treat humanoid patents as necessary but not sufficient evidence.
1.2 Safety and integration standards
Humanoids deployed in manufacturing/assembly do not enter an unregulated space. The industrial-robot safety framework is the strongest existing regulatory/standards anchor.
- ISO 10218-1:2011, “Robots and robotic devices — Safety requirements for industrial robots — Part 1: Robots,” published 2011-07.
URL: iso.org
Access date: 2026-04-26.
Standards-body document, Tier 1.
ISO 10218-1 specifies safety requirements for the robot manipulator itself, including design, protective measures, and information for use. For a humanoid, the whole-body manipulator classification is non-trivial because a humanoid is both mobile platform and manipulator, which may also pull in ISO 10218-2 for robot systems/integration and ISO/TS 15066 for collaborative operation. The practical scaling implication is that a humanoid entering a unionized automotive assembly line or an Amazon fulfillment cell will require site-specific risk assessment, safety-rated control modes, and likely force/power limiting. These are certification costs and schedule risks that do not disappear simply because the robot can walk or pick a part.
I do not cite ISO/TS 15066 separately here because I did not verify an exact document URL in this pass; the relevant safety gap is flagged as a second-pass target.
1.3 Peer-reviewed industrial humanoid platform: TALOS
The strongest peer-reviewed technical source for an industrial-oriented humanoid is the TALOS conference paper:
- O. Stasse et al., “TALOS: A new humanoid research platform targeted for industrial applications,” 2017 IEEE-RAS 17th International Conference on Humanoid Robots, DOI: 10.1109/HUMANOIDS.2017.8246947.
URL: doi.org
Published: 2017-11.
Access date: 2026-04-26.
Named conference proceedings, Tier 2.
The paper documents a torque-controlled humanoid platform intended for industrial applications. It is peer-reviewed as a conference paper, but it is a research-platform paper: it demonstrates engineering capability and design intent, not mass-manufacturing yield, unit cost, mean-time-between-failures, or cycle-time parity against a human assembler. Those scaling metrics remain needs primary source validation.
1.4 Learning methods for humanoid manipulation/assembly tasks
- Z. Fu et al., “HumanPlus: Humanoid Shadowing and Imitation from Humans,” arXiv:2406.10454, preprint.
URL: arxiv.org
Submitted: 2024-06-14 (date verification: needs primary source validation)
Access date: 2026-04-26.
This arXiv paper is a preprint, not a journal paper. I cite it only for the specific claim that humanoid whole-body skills can be learned from human demonstrations and single RGB camera observations. The manufacturing relevance is that assembly tasks require retraining/bootstrapping; this paper suggests a path to reduce manual programming, but its results are not an audited factory deployment. It is not used to support any moat or production-scaling claim.
Cross-reference: marketing claims vs. SEC-filed disclosures
2.1 Tesla: Optimus claims vs. 10-K risk factors
Tesla’s public robotics page describes Optimus as designed to perform tasks that are unsafe, repetitive, or boring.
Source: Tesla, “Robotics,” tesla.com , accessed 2026-04-26, self-reported marketing page, Tier 2.
The SEC-filed disclosure is materially more conservative. Tesla’s 10-K risk factors discuss risks from new products, production ramp, supply chain, and manufacturing processes, but do not disclose a specific Optimus revenue line, unit volume target, or audited cost-per-unit figure.
Source: U.S. SEC EDGAR, Tesla Inc., CIK 0001318605, Form 10-K filings, sec.gov , accessed 2026-04-26, primary regulator filing, Tier 1.
Reported discrepancy: Tesla’s public marketing/messaging can support an inference that Optimus is a near-term general-purpose labor platform; the 10-K does not provide audited unit cost, unit volume, revenue, or margin guidance for Optimus. Any specific claim that Optimus will be sold for $20,000 or $30,000 or will reach “10,000 units” by a date must be treated as needs primary source validation unless a Tesla SEC filing or audited financial statement supplies it.
2.2 Figure AI: “commercial agreement” vs. absence of filed unit economics
Figure AI announced a commercial agreement with BMW to bring general-purpose humanoids into automotive manufacturing.
Source: Figure AI, “Figure Announces Commercial Agreement with BMW Manufacturing to Bring General Purpose Robots into Automotive Production,” 2024-01-18, figure.ai , accessed 2026-04-26, company press release, Tier 2.
The release does not disclose units, price, cycle time, uptime, yield, or factory line placement. Figure AI is private and files no 10-K. Therefore the buyer relationship is real as a named customer class, but the scaling economics are self-reported and not independently audited.
2.3 NVIDIA: platform sale, not humanoid assembly
NVIDIA announced Project GR00T, a foundation model for humanoid robots, plus Jetson Thor and Isaac tooling.
Source: NVIDIA Newsroom, “NVIDIA Announces Project GR00T Foundation Model for Humanoid Robots,” 2024-03-18, nvidianews.nvidia.com , accessed 2026-04-26, company press release, Tier 2.
NVIDIA monetizes the compute/software layer, not the assembled humanoid. Its filings do not separately break out “humanoid” revenue; any humanoid-specific revenue estimate is needs primary source validation.
Worked calculation: humanoid capex break-even vs. one assembly worker
This calculation is illustrative, not a forecast. It quantifies the maximum economically rational humanoid capex if the robot replaces one assembly worker.
3.1 Formula
Annual equivalent robot cost:
\[
\text{Annual robot cost} = \text{capex} \times \text{CRF} + \text{capex} \times m
\]
where:
\[
\text{CRF} = \frac{i(1+i)^N}{(1+i)^N - 1}
\]
- \(i\) = discount rate
- \(N\) = useful life in years
- \(m\) = annual maintenance/reprogramming/insurance cost as a fraction of capex
Break-even condition:
\[
\text{capex} \times (\text{CRF} + m) = \text{annual fully loaded human labor cost}
\]
Solve for break-even capex:
\[
\text{Break-even capex} = \frac{\text{annual human labor cost}}{\text{CRF} + m}
\]
3.2 Inputs and result
| Parameter | Value | Source (URL + ID + date) | Tier | Measured/derived/assumed/inferred | Cross-verified? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Assembler/fabricator median annual wage | $41,790 | BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook, Assemblers and Fabricators, bls.gov , accessed 2026-04-26 | Tier 2 government source | Measured, BLS survey | Yes |
| Fully loaded labor cost multiplier | 1.55 | No verified source; assumption | n/a | Assumed | No |
| Fully loaded human labor cost | ~$64,800/yr | Derived from BLS median × 1.55 | n/a | Derived | No |
| Humanoid capex per robot | $100,000 | No verified OEM list price; Tesla/Figure/Agility do not publish audited ASP | n/a | Assumed | No |
| Maintenance/reprogramming/insurance | 20% of capex/yr | No verified source; assumption | n/a | Assumed | No |
| Useful life | 5 years | No verified source; assumption | n/a | Assumed | No |
| Discount rate | 10% | No verified source; assumption | n/a | Assumed | No |
| Capital recovery factor | 0.2638 | Derived from \(i=10\%\), \(N=5\) | n/a | Derived | No |
| Annual robot cost at $100k capex | $26,380 capex recovery + $20,000 maintenance = $46,380/yr | Derived | n/a | Derived | No |
| Break-even capex vs. $64,800 labor cost | ≈ $139,700 | Derived | n/a | Derived | No |
Calculation detail:
\[
\text{CRF} = \frac{0.10(1.10)^5}{(1.10)^5 - 1}
= \frac{0.10 \times 1.61051}{1.61051 - 1}
= \frac{0.161051}{0.61051}
= 0.2638
\]
\[
\text{Break-even capex} = \frac{64,800}{0.2638 + 0.20}
= \frac{64,800}{0.4638}
= 139,700
\]
3.3 Sensitivity
- At $150,000 capex: annual cost = \(150{,}000 \times 0.4638 = \$69{,}570\), which is above the assumed $64,800 worker cost by about $4,770/year. The robot is not cost-competitive under these maintenance/life assumptions.
- At 50% effective utilization—meaning one robot replaces only 0.5 worker-equivalent of labor—the break-even capex halves to about $69,850.
- At 30% maintenance/reprogramming instead of 20%: denominator = \(0.2638 + 0.30 = 0.5638\), break-even capex = $114,900.
This shows the thesis is highly sensitive to capex, utilization, and maintenance. The $100,000-capex robot looks attractive only if it actually achieves near one-for-one labor replacement and if the 20% maintenance assumption holds. Those inputs are not yet demonstrated in any audited public filing.
Unit economics / business model
4.1 Who monetizes and how
- Humanoid producers — Tesla, Figure AI, Agility Robotics, Boston Dynamics/others — would monetize through hardware sales, leases, or robot-as-a-service contracts. No producer currently has an audited humanoid ASP or margin disclosure. Any exact gross margin figure is needs primary source validation.
Sources: Tesla 10-K risk factors, sec.gov ; Figure/BMW release, figure.ai .
- Compute/platform suppliers — NVIDIA sells the Grau/GR00T/Isaac/Jetson Thor stack, simulation, and robot foundation-model training. NVIDIA’s 10-K reports high gross margin at the company level, but humanoid-specific revenue is not separately disclosed; exact humanoid-specific margin is needs primary source validation.
Source: NVIDIA GR00T release, nvidianews.nvidia.com .
- Integrators and automation providers — Rockwell Automation, Teradyne/Universal Robots, Cognex, and similar firms capture value from integration, safety, vision, and line-control work. This is the classic automation business model: services and software on top of hardware.
4.2 Who captures the value
The value is not automatically captured by the humanoid maker. In factory settings, the value pool may split across:
- the robot OEM (hardware + basic autonomy),
- the compute/AI platform vendor (training/simulation/inference),
- the integrator (cell design, safety, work holding, conveyance),
- the end user (labor savings, throughput, uptime).
This is important because a humanoid is not a standalone replacement for an assembly worker; it requires grippers, vision, safety fencing or force limiting, software integration, end-of-arm tooling, and continuous reprogramming. Therefore, unit economics should be calculated at the work-cell level, not the robot level.
Disconfirming Evidence
The humanoid manufacturing and assembly scaling thesis would be materially weakened if any of the following occurs:
- No audited humanoid revenue or unit disclosure appears in any U.S.-listed company’s 10-K by 2027. Currently Tesla and NVIDIA do not separately disclose humanoid-specific revenue; continued absence would mean the scaling thesis remains marketing-led rather than filing-led.
- Actual deployed robot cost stays above the break-even threshold. If real work-cell cost exceeds about $139,700 against a $64,800 fully loaded worker, or if maintenance/reprogramming runs above 20% and utilization falls below one worker-equivalent, the labor-replacement economics fail.
- Pilot customers do not convert to volume procurement. If the BMW/Figure and Amazon/Agility relationships remain pilots or are terminated, the named buyer class is too thin to support a broad humanoid manufacturing market.
- Electric Atlas or comparable all-electric humanoids cannot meet assembly cycle time and mean-time-between-failure requirements. The electric pivot only helps scaling if it preserves performance while reducing maintenance; if it fails either, the hydraulic-to-electric contradiction becomes a negative rather than a positive.
- Safety certification blocks or substantially delays humanoid deployment. If ISO 10218/ISO 10218-2/ISO/TS 15066 compliance requires force/power limits that make cycle time uncompetitive, humanoids may be confined to low-speed, low-payload tasks and lose the labor-replacement case.