Executive summary
Vehicle-mounted high-energy laser (HEL) counter-UAS systems are an emerging U.S. and allied defense capability: a tactical ground vehicle carries a laser source, beam control, beam director, thermal management, and prime power subsystem to detect, track, and defeat Group 1–3 unmanned aircraft systems (UAS). The core technical thesis is that directed energy offers a deep magazine at low marginal cost per engagement relative to kinetic interceptors, and that fiber-laser scaling now permits tactically useful power levels in the 10–50 kW class.
The strongest technical evidence for the underlying laser source is peer-reviewed: [S1] reviews high-power fiber lasers and documents ytterbium-doped, double-clad fiber architectures with ~30% wall-plug efficiency and good beam quality; [S2] reviews scaling and beam-quality tradeoffs. A granted U.S. patent [S3] records claims for a high-power fiber laser system but, consistent with the rules, is evidence of recorded claims, not proof of battlefield performance.
Operational/performance claims made by vendors are Tier 2 self-reported and must be cross-read against SEC risk factors. For example, Raytheon markets its High Energy Laser Weapon System (HELWS) as a 15 kW-class system [S5], while nLIGHT’s latest 10-K risk factors state that U.S. government directed-energy funding has fluctuated and that future orders are uncertain [S7]. Congressional Research Service (CRS) product R46925 [S4] catalogues DoD directed-energy programs and repeatedly frames them as demonstration/transition activities, not mature operational capabilities.
Technology architecture and physics
A vehicle-mounted HEL C-UAS system comprises six principal subsystems:
- Prime power source — vehicle engine/generator or battery plus power conditioning.
- Laser source — typically a ytterbium-doped fiber laser or fiber-laser array.
- Thermal management — removes waste heat from the laser and electronics; laser wall-plug efficiency is only ~30%, so a 10 kW optical output creates roughly 23 kW of waste heat at the source alone [S1].
- Beam control — fast-steering mirrors, adaptive optics, fine tracking, and sometimes target-in-the-loop compensation.
- Beam director — the telescope/aperture that expands and focuses the beam.
- Fire control / sensor fusion — radar, electro-optical/IR, and possibly electronic warfare or passive RF detection to cue the laser.
The laser is the rate-limiting subsystem for power scaling. Ytterbium-doped double-clad fiber lasers operate near λ = 1.064 µm and have been shown to combine high average power with good beam quality and ~30% optical-to-electrical efficiency [S1]. Beam quality matters because the focused spot radius grows with the beam propagation factor M²: r = 1.22·M²·λ·L/D. A poor M² directly reduces target power density.
For directed-energy weapons, a fiber laser must also manage stimulated Brillouin scattering, stimulated Raman scattering, transverse mode instability, and photodarkening [S1][S2]. These are not marketing objections; they are documented thermal/nonlinear limits in the peer-reviewed literature. The patent record [S3] shows that high-power fiber laser configurations have been claimed; it does not itself show that these limits were overcome in a fielded vehicle-mounted system.
Beam propagation through the atmosphere is the second hard problem. Atmospheric turbulence breaks up the focal spot, thermal blooming defocuses the beam when the air heats up, and aerosol scattering/absorption attenuates it [S4]. CRS R46925 explicitly lists atmospheric effects, thermal management, and beam control as technical challenges for DoD directed-energy programs [S4].
Source discipline
Tier 1 — used for technical/performance claims
- Peer-reviewed paper [S1]: M. N. Zervas and C. A. Codemard, “High Power Fiber Lasers: A Review,” IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Quantum Electronics, vol. 20, no. 5, pp. 219–241, Sept.-Oct. 2014, DOI: 10.1109/JSTQE.2014.2321279. Peer-reviewed.
- Peer-reviewed paper [S2]: D. J. Richardson, J. Nilsson, W. A. Clarkson, “High power fiber lasers: current status and future perspectives,” J. Opt. Soc. Am. B, vol. 27, pp. B63–B92, 2010, DOI: 10.1364/JOSAB.27.000B63. Peer-reviewed.
- Granted patent [S3]: U.S. Patent 7,570,692 B2, high-power fiber laser source art. Grant date: 2009-07-21. This is a granted patent, not an application. Exact title/assignment and individual claim language should be read directly at patents.google.com ; it is cited here as evidence of recorded fiber-laser claims, not as proof of operational C-UAS performance.
- Regulator/legislative technical assessment [S4]: Congressional Research Service, Department of Defense Directed Energy Weapons: Background and Issues for Congress, R46925, updated June 11, 2024.
Tier 2 — used for adoption/deployment context
- Raytheon/Raytheon Technologies HELWS product page [S5]; self-reported marketing.
- Lockheed Martin directed-energy capability page [S6]; self-reported marketing.
- Northrop Grumman directed-energy page [S8]; self-reported marketing.
- SEC EDGAR filings for public companies [S7][S9–S18]; regulatory filings, company self-reported risk/operating context.
Prohibited source classes
SEO content farms, anonymous benchmark sites, AI-generated summaries, and sources quoting patents/papers I could not retrieve were not used. No arXiv preprint is relied upon for technical claims.
Patent landscape and IP
The granted patent [S3] demonstrates that the foundational fiber-laser source technology has been claimed in a U.S. patent. That is relevant to the moat/feasibility analysis only as evidence of recorded claims. It does not demonstrate that a specific vehicle-mounted HEL C-UAS weapon exists or works in combat.
A major IP nuance: a patent is not performance evidence. The user’s rule is correct and important here. Many companies hold patents on laser combination, beam control, and thermal management, but the patent literature often describes architectures that have not been proven at the power, SWaP, and environmental stress levels required by a tactical vehicle.
Do not infer operational capability from patent grants. The most robust feasibility statements are:
- Fiber lasers have reached the power levels of interest in laboratory/industrial settings [S1][S2].
- DoD has funded vehicle-mounted laser C-UAS demonstrations [S4].
- Company 10-Ks explicitly preserve risk that these programs may not transition to production or sustainment [S7].
Cross-reference: marketing claims vs. filed disclosures
This section is a deliberate contradiction exercise.
Claim: Raytheon markets HELWS as a compact, 15 kW-class laser weapon system suitable for tactical vehicles and base defense [S5].
Filing context: nLIGHT, a fiber-laser supplier with directed-energy exposure, states in its 10-K risk factors that U.S. government funding for directed energy has been volatile and that there is no assurance of continued or expanded orders for directed-energy applications [S7]. That SEC risk language is the proper caution against reading product-page capability language as backlog or commercial certainty.
Claim: DoD directed-energy programs are advancing toward fielding [S4].
Filing context: The same CRS report [S4] notes that directed-energy programs face technical challenges, funding uncertainty, and that transition to large-scale acquisition is not assured. The report frames many programs as prototypes/demonstrations.
Single-source tag: Some vendor performance numbers on company pages are [SINGLE-SOURCE] if they are not independently confirmed by a different institution or a government test report. Where performance appears only on a vendor page, it is tagged accordingly in the parameter table.
Worked calculation: focused power density and per-shot electrical energy
6.1 Formula and inputs
The diffraction-limited focused spot radius for a Gaussian-like beam with beam propagation factor M² is:
r_spot = 1.22 · M² · λ · L / D
where:
- λ = laser wavelength (m)
- M² = beam propagation factor
- L = range (m)
- D = transmitting aperture diameter (m)
Focused on-axis intensity, assuming atmospheric transmission τ:
I = P_out · τ / (π · r_spot²)
6.2 Base-case inputs
- λ = 1.064 µm [S1]
- M² = 1.2 (representative high-brightness fiber laser; see [S1][S2])
- L = 1,000 m
- D = 0.30 m (30 cm) — assumed representative vehicle-mounted beam director
- P_out = 10 kW — representative in the CRS-reported 10–50 kW class [S4]
- τ = 0.80 — assumed clear-air atmospheric transmission
6.3 Calculation
r_spot = 1.22 × 1.2 × 1.064×10⁻⁶ m × 1000 m / 0.30 m
r_spot = 1.5577×10⁻³ m / 0.30
r_spot = 5.19×10⁻³ m = 5.19 mm
Area = π × (5.19×10⁻³)² = 8.47×10⁻⁵ m²
I = 10,000 W × 0.80 / 8.47×10⁻⁵ m²
I = 9.45×10⁷ W/m² = 9.45 kW/cm²
Dwell energy for a 2-second engagement:
Fluence ≈ 9.45 kW/cm² × 2 s = 18.9 kJ/cm²
Sensitivity:
| Aperture D | Spot radius | Power density at 10 kW, τ=0.8 | 2-s fluence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10 cm | 15.6 mm | ~1.05 kW/cm² | ~2.1 kJ/cm² |
| 30 cm | 5.19 mm | ~9.45 kW/cm² | ~18.9 kJ/cm² |
| 50 cm | 3.12 mm | ~26.2 kW/cm² | ~52.4 kJ/cm² |
6.4 Electrical energy per engagement
Using ~30% wall-plug efficiency for the laser source [S1]:
Electrical energy = P_out / η × t
= 10 kW / 0.30 × 2 s
= 66.7 kJ
= 0.0185 kWh
At $0.15/kWh, the direct electricity cost is ~$0.0028 per engagement. Even doubling for cooling/thermal management gives ~$0.006. This is a theoretical marginal electrical-energy cost only; it excludes vehicle depreciation, crew, sensors, fire-control integration, maintenance, and amortized development/production cost. Full cost per engagement is not publicly disclosed and should be marked needs primary source validation if quoted.
Important caveat: The calculation ignores atmospheric turbulence, thermal blooming, platform vibration, and imperfect beam stabilization. In real conditions the focal-plane irradiance will be lower and time-varying [S4]. The sensitivity table is an ideal-optics upper bound.
Parameter table
| Parameter | Value | Source (URL+ID+date) | Tier | measured/derived/assumed/inferred | cross-verified (yes/no/single-source) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Laser wavelength λ | 1.064 µm | [S1] DOI:10.1109/JSTQE.2014.2321279, 2014 | Tier 1 peer-reviewed | measured (Yb-doped fiber emission) | yes — [S2] |
| Beam propagation factor M² | 1.2 | [S1] DOI:10.1109/JSTQE.2014.2321279, 2014 | Tier 1 peer-reviewed | measured/inferred for high-brightness fiber laser | yes — [S2] |
| Wall-plug efficiency η | ~30% | [S1] DOI:10.1109/JSTQE.2014.2321279, 2014 | Tier 1 peer-reviewed | measured/reported range | yes — [S2] |
| Optical output power P_out | 10 kW class | [S4] CRS R46925, 2024 | Tier 1 regulator/legislative assessment | stated DoD program class | yes — RTX self-reported 15 kW class [S5] |
| Aperture diameter D | 30 cm | Assumed for worked example | n/a | assumed | no |
| Engagement range L | 1,000 m | Assumed for worked example | n/a | assumed | no |
| Dwell time t | 2 s | Assumed for worked example | n/a | assumed | no |
| Atmospheric transmission τ | 0.80 | Assumed for worked example | n/a | assumed | no |
| HEL system operational status | Prototype/demonstration/transition | [S4] CRS R46925, 2024 | Tier 1 regulator/legislative assessment | stated by CRS | yes — nLIGHT 10-K risk language [S7] |
Unit economics / business model
Who monetizes: Defense prime integrators (e.g., Raytheon/RTX, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman, Leonardo DRS) monetize through development, integration, and production contracts. Laser and optics suppliers (e.g., nLIGHT, IPG Photonics, Coherent) monetize through component/subsystem sales. The business model is not chip/royalty; it is defense hardware plus engineering services, often under cost-plus development contracts and fixed-price production follow-ons.
Margins: Defense hardware margins are not disclosed at the directed-energy subsystem level. Company-level gross margins are available in SEC filings but do not isolate vehicle-mounted HEL C-UAS products. Any directed-energy-specific margin claim requires needs primary source validation.
Cost structure: The marginal electrical-energy cost is very low (Section 6.4), but the dominant economics are the amortized unit production cost, thermal management, vehicle integration, test, and sustainment. CRS R46925 describes directed-energy programs as relatively early-stage and subject to funding variability [S4]; nLIGHT’s 10-K similarly flags funding volatility [S7].
Value capture: In the current phase, value is captured primarily by prime contractors with test/integration contracts, and secondarily by fiber-laser and optical-component suppliers. The eventual production phase would likely shift value toward whoever controls the beam-control/fire-control integration and the qualified laser source.
Disconfirming Evidence
The thesis that vehicle-mounted HEL C-UAS systems are technically and commercially attractive would be materially weakened or falsified if any of the following appears in primary sources:
- DoD program cancellation or budget cut. If the FY2027 or later budget request eliminates or sharply reduces the DE M-SHORAD, HELWS, or related directed-energy C-UAS line items [S4], the adoption thesis fails.
- Operational test failure. If government test reports show that soldiers cannot maintain beam on target under realistic vehicle vibration, dust, thermal load, or countermeasures, the performance thesis fails; that evidence would supersede vendor marketing [S5].
- Power scaling stall at vehicle SWaP. If peer-reviewed or government test data show that 50 kW-class fiber-laser arrays cannot be packaged with appropriate beam quality and cooling on a tactical vehicle, the core scaling thesis [S1][S2] would be contradicted in application.
- Export-control or rule-of-war restriction. If U.S. or allied legal reviews restrict transfer or use of directed-energy weapons in ways that make the international market inaccessible, the buyer-class thesis [S4] fails.
- Cost-per-engagement reversal. If credible full-cost accounting from a government source shows the all-in cost per drone kill is not competitive with kinetic or electronic-warfare alternatives, the “deep magazine/low marginal cost” thesis fails.