Technology research · Digital Sovereignty · Deep Dive

Digital Credential Lifecycle Economics

Government issued digital credentials manage the lifecycle of citizen and employee identities: enrollment biometric capture, background checks , issuance smart cards, mobile IDs, digital wallets , lifecycle management renewal, revocation, re issuance , and verification biometric authentication, document validation .

Universe
Digital Sovereignty
Layer
National Identity & Digital Credentials
Mapped
1 company
Tier
Deep Dive

AI-assisted research and editing. This edition consolidates earlier analysis and retains its original source dates. Research methodology

Source compliance and identifier resolution

This note relies on the following source classes:

  • Tier 1 granted patent: US10242372B2, “Decentralized identity management system,” granted 2019-03-26 to Evernym, Inc. — https://patents.google.com/patent/US10242372B2/en
  • Tier 1 peer-reviewed journal article: Mühle, A., Grüner, A., Gayvoronskaya, T., Meinel, C., “A survey on essential components of a self-sovereign identity,” Computer Science Review, vol. 30, 2018, pp. 83–100, DOI 10.1016/j.cosrev.2018.10.002 — https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cosrev.2018.10.002
  • Tier 1 standards-body documents: W3C Verifiable Credentials Data Model v1.1, W3C Decentralized Identifiers Core 1.0, NIST SP 800-63-3, ISO/IEC 18013-5:2021.
  • Tier 2 company technical docs and self-reported engineering content: Apple Wallet, Google Wallet developer documentation, Microsoft Entra Verified ID documentation.
  • Tier 2 SEC filings and company IR: Apple, Alphabet, Microsoft, Okta 10-K filings; Clear Secure investor relations.

No SEO content farms, anonymous benchmark sites, or AI-generated summaries are used. No application-only patent is used as a moat claim. The granted patent is treated as evidence of recorded claims, not proof of commercial performance or technical superiority. The DOI paper is a survey/architecture paper, not an empirical cost study; it is used for technical framing only.


Technical foundation: what a digital credential is and its lifecycle

A digital credential in this note is the W3C-style verifiable credential: a set of one or more claims made by an issuer about a subject, with a cryptographic proof enabling a verifier to check issuer authenticity, integrity, and, where supported, selective disclosure. The W3C Verifiable Credentials Data Model v1.1 defines the roles as issuer, holder, verifier, and verifiable data registry, and specifies that a credential contains issuer metadata, credential subject claims, and a proof property (https://www.w3.org/TR/vc-data-model/, W3C Recommendation 2022-03-03).

The lifecycle of a digital credential has at least six economically distinct stages:

  1. Identity proofing and enrollment — establishing the subject’s identity before issuance. NIST SP 800-63-3 defines identity assurance levels IAL1, IAL2, and IAL3; IAL2 permits remote or in-person proofing, while IAL3 requires supervised in-person proofing. Higher IAL implies higher issuance cost and stronger evidence (https://doi.org/10.6028/NIST.SP.800-63-3, NIST, June 2017, updated).
  2. Issuance — the issuer signs the credential and binds it to an identifier. For mobile driver’s licenses, ISO/IEC 18013-5:2021 specifies the mDL application, data elements, and presentation methods (https://www.iso.org/standard/69084.html, published 2021-09).
  3. Holder storage and key management — wallets such as Apple Wallet and Google Wallet store credentials locally, typically in a secure element or equivalent hardware-backed storage (https://www.apple.com/wallet/; https://developers.google.com/wallet, both Tier 2 self-reported).
  4. Presentation and verification — the holder presents a verifiable presentation or an mDL response; the verifier checks issuer signature, validity window, and revocation status. The W3C VC model defines presentation and proof verification (https://www.w3.org/TR/vc-data-model/, 2022-03-03).
  5. Revocation and status — credentials may be revoked before natural expiry through credentialStatus mechanisms in the W3C VC model (https://www.w3.org/TR/vc-data-model/, 2022-03-03).
  6. Renewal, re-issuance, and recovery — expired credentials must be reissued after re-proofing or risk-based re-authentication; lost wallet keys require recovery processes.

Technical-load-bearing claim 1: A digital credential is an issuer-signed set of claims that a verifier can check without calling the issuer in real time. This is supported by two independent Tier 1 sources from different institutions: the W3C standard (https://www.w3.org/TR/vc-data-model/, W3C Recommendation 2022-03-03) and the peer-reviewed survey by Mühle et al. (DOI 10.1016/j.cosrev.2018.10.002), which describes the underlying self-sovereign identity components including issuer-signed attestations and holder-presented proofs.

Cross-verified: yes.

Technical-load-bearing claim 2: Decentralized identifiers can be anchored to distributed ledgers or other verifiable data registries, enabling issuer and subject identifiers to be resolved independently. This is supported by the W3C Decentralized Identifiers Core 1.0 standard (https://www.w3.org/TR/did-core/, W3C Recommendation 2022-07-19) and by the granted patent US10242372B2, which describes decentralized identity management using distributed ledger identifiers and claim data (https://patents.google.com/patent/US10242372B2/en, granted 2019-03-26).

Cross-verified: yes.

Technical-load-bearing claim 3: Mobile driver’s licenses use a distinct ISO-standardized presentation model with device retrieval and proximity engagement, rather than a generic W3C verifiable presentation. This is supported by ISO/IEC 18013-5:2021 (https://www.iso.org/standard/69084.html, published 2021-09). The W3C VC model does not define the same device retrieval or issuance protocol.

Cross-verified: no — [SINGLE-SOURCE] because the note does not contain a second independent Tier 1 source reconstructing the ISO 18013-5 engagement mechanics.

Standards contradiction. The two major standards families are not automatically interoperable. ISO/IEC 18013-5:2021 defines a mobile document representation for driver’s licenses (https://www.iso.org/standard/69084.html), while the W3C VC model is a general-purpose data model (https://www.w3.org/TR/vc-data-model/). The economic consequence is that a credential issued as an ISO mDL may require translation, mapping, or additional issuer infrastructure to be used as a W3C VC, increasing lifecycle cost and reducing network effects. This is a standards-fragmentation risk, not a resolved interoperability position.


Patent-versus-application and paper-versus-preprint discipline

  • US10242372B2 is a granted patent, not an application. The grant date is 2019-03-26 (https://patents.google.com/patent/US10242372B2/en). It is cited here as evidence of recorded claims in decentralized identity management. It does not demonstrate production cost, verification speed, adoption, or revenue.
  • Mühle et al. 2018 is a peer-reviewed journal article, not a preprint. The DOI resolves to Computer Science Review (https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cosrev.2018.10.002). It is a survey, not an empirical measurement of commercial credential costs; therefore it is used only for framework and component definitions.
  • No application-only patents and no arXiv preprints are relied on for moat, feasibility, or technical-performance claims.

Unit economics / business model

Who monetizes this technology

Digital credential lifecycle economics are split across at least four non-mutually-exclusive business models:

  1. Government-funded or regulator-mandated issuance. State motor-vehicle agencies issue mDLs under ISO/IEC 18013-5:2021 (https://www.iso.org/standard/69084.html). Government issuers typically do not monetize the credential directly; they may capture fraud reduction and operations savings. Apple’s Wallet page positions state IDs as a free feature within Apple Wallet (https://www.apple.com/wallet/, Tier 2 self-reported); no separate issuer fee is disclosed in Apple’s 10-K (https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0000320193&type=10-K&dateb=&owner=include&count=40).
  2. Platform wallet monetization by ecosystem retention and services attach. Apple and Google do not disclose per-credential or per-verification revenue for digital IDs. Apple’s fiscal 2024 10-K reports a large services segment, but the filing does not break out Wallet identity revenue; risk-factor language covers legal and regulatory complexity rather than unit economics (https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0000320193&type=10-K&dateb=&owner=include&count=40).
  3. Enterprise identity-provider SaaS. Microsoft Entra Verified ID and Okta monetize identity lifecycle management through subscription seats, tenant services, and adjacent security products. Microsoft’s Entra Verified ID documentation states that enterprises can issue and verify W3C Verifiable Credentials (https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/entra/verified-id/, Tier 2 self-reported), but Microsoft’s 10-K does not report a separate Verified ID revenue line (https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0000789019&type=10-K&dateb=&owner=include&count=40). Okta’s 10-K reports subscription revenue, not identity-credential unit margins (https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0001660134&type=10-K&dateb=&owner=include&count=40).
  4. Identity-proofing and verification services. Clear Secure, Inc. provides identity verification and a digital identity platform; its investor-relations material positions it as a paid identity-verification ecosystem (https://ir.clearme.com/). No per-verification price is used here because no primary source was retrieved.

Typical margins and where value is captured

No source-bound figure for digital-credential unit gross margin is available in the public filings reviewed. This is a critical disclosure gap: Apple’s 10-K reports Services gross margin in aggregate (https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0000320193&type=10-K&dateb=&owner=include&count=40), Alphabet’s 10-K reports Google Services margin in aggregate (https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0001652044&type=10-K&dateb=&owner=include&count=40), Microsoft’s 10-K reports segment margins for cloud/productivity but not Verified ID (https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0000789019&type=10-K&dateb=&owner=include&count=40), and Okta’s 10-K reports subscription margins but not credential-level unit margins (https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0001660134&type=10-K&dateb=&owner=include&count=40).

Any “typical gross margin” for a pure credential lifecycle product must be marked needs primary source validation.

Value capture appears to accrue in three places:

  • Platform wallets capture device/software lock-in and services revenue, but the credential unit itself may be a cost center rather than a profit center.
  • Enterprise identity providers capture recurring SaaS revenue for issuance, verification workflow, lifecycle governance, and access control.
  • High-assurance identity proofers capture the expensive IAL2/IAL3 step that every high-value credential requires before issuance (https://doi.org/10.6028/NIST.SP.800-63-3, NIST SP 800-63-3).

The lifecycle economics therefore depend less on the marginal cost of a signature and more on who is required to pay for identity proofing, revocation, and risk liability at each stage.


Quantitative worked calculation

Because no primary-source market price was retrieved, the calculation below is an illustrative break-even model, not a market estimate. All monetary inputs are analyst assumptions and are marked “needs primary source validation.” The lifecycle cost structure follows the stages defined in NIST SP 800-63-3 and W3C VC (https://doi.org/10.6028/NIST.SP.800-63-3; https://www.w3.org/TR/vc-data-model/).

Formula

Annual cost per active credential holder:

\[

C_{\text{annual/user}} = \frac{C_{\text{enroll}}}{L} + C_{\text{store}} + C_{\text{renew}} + (C_{\text{verify}} \times N)

\]

Where:

  • \(C_{\text{enroll}}\): identity proofing plus first issuance cost
  • \(L\): average credential lifetime in years
  • \(C_{\text{store}}\): annual wallet/storage/key-management cost per holder
  • \(C_{\text{renew}}\): annual renewal/revocation infrastructure cost per holder
  • \(C_{\text{verify}}\): cost per verification event
  • \(N\): verifications per holder per year

Base-case inputs

ParameterValueSource (URL + ID + date)TierMeasured/derived/assumed/inferredCross-verified
\(C_{\text{enroll}}\), IAL2 illustrative$10.00No primary source; analyst assumption; needs primary source validationn/aassumedno
Average credential lifetime \(L\)2 yearsNo primary source; analyst assumption; needs primary source validationn/aassumedno
Annual storage/management \(C_{\text{store}}\)$0.50No primary source; analyst assumption; needs primary source validationn/aassumedno
Annual renewal/revocation \(C_{\text{renew}}\)$0.20No primary source; analyst assumption; needs primary source validationn/aassumedno
Verification event cost \(C_{\text{verify}}\)$0.01No primary source; analyst assumption; needs primary source validationn/aassumedno
Verifications per holder per year \(N\)24No primary source; analyst assumption; needs primary source validationn/aassumedno
Active holders1,000,000No primary source; analyst assumption; needs primary source validationn/aassumedno
Identity assurance cost orderingIAL1 < IAL2 < IAL3NIST SP 800-63-3, DOI 10.6028/NIST.SP.800-63-3, 2017-06, accessed 2026-04-26Tier 1derived from IAL definitionsyes

Base-case calculation

\[

C_{\text{annual/user}} = \frac{\$10.00}{2} + \$0.50 + \$0.20 + (\$0.01 \times 24)

\]

\[

= \$5.00 + \$0.50 + \$0.20 + \$0.24 = \$5.94

\]

For 1,000,000 active holders:

\[

\$5.94 \times 1{,}000{,}000 = \$5.94\text{M}/\text{year}

\]

Break-even required revenue per active holder is $5.94/year.

Sensitivity scenarios

Scenario\(C_{\text{enroll}}\)\(L\)\(C_{\text{store}}\)\(C_{\text{renew}}\)\(C_{\text{verify}}\)\(N\)Annual cost/user
Base$102$0.50$0.20$0.0124$5.94
High-frequency verification$102$0.50$0.20$0.05104$10.90
Low-frequency, cheap verification$102$0.50$0.20$0.00512$5.76
High-assurance in-person proofing$502$0.50$0.20$0.0124$25.94
Long-lived credential$105$0.50$0.20$0.0112$2.82

All sensitivity values are derived from the same assumed inputs and must be treated as needs primary source validation. The structural takeaway is not sensitive to the exact numbers: high-assurance identity proofing and short credential lifetime dominate per-user cost; verification volume only becomes material at high event frequency or high per-event cost.


Cross-reference: marketing claims vs. filed disclosures

This section reports discrepancies between company technical/marketing statements and SEC filings. This is a compliance observation, not an accusation of falsity.

  • Apple: Apple Wallet marketing states users can add a driver’s license or state ID and present it securely at select TSA checkpoints, businesses, and apps (https://www.apple.com/wallet/, Tier 2 self-reported). Apple’s 10-K does not disclose identity-wallet revenue, cost of sales, or a credential-unit margin; the Services segment aggregates multiple businesses (https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0000320193&type=10-K&dateb=&owner=include&count=40).

Discrepancy: adoption/availability is marketed; economics are not disclosed.

  • Alphabet/Google: Google Wallet developer documentation and consumer pages describe storing and presenting digital passes and IDs (https://developers.google.com/wallet, Tier 2 self-reported). Alphabet’s 10-K does not break out Google Wallet identity revenue or unit costs (https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0001652044&type=10-K&dateb=&owner=include&count=40).

Discrepancy: technical capability is documented; economic contribution is opaque.

  • Microsoft: Microsoft Entra Verified ID documentation says enterprises can issue and verify W3C-format credentials through Entra Verified ID (https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/entra/verified-id/, Tier 2 self-reported). Microsoft’s 10-K reports segment revenue and operating income for Productivity and Business Processes and Intelligent Cloud, but no Verified ID unit economics (https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0000789019&type=10-K&dateb=&owner=include&count=40).

Discrepancy: enterprise credential issuance is available; it is not a disclosed revenue segment.

  • Okta: Okta’s 10-K reports subscription revenue and describes identity and access-management products (https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0001660134&type=10-K&dateb=&owner=include&count=40). No public per-credential or per-verification price was retrieved in this note, so no margin claim is made.

Discrepancy: lifecycle governance is monetized as SaaS; unit-level credential economics are not disclosed.

The recurring disclosure gap is that marketing and developer documentation describe technical capability and adoption, while SEC filings do not isolate digital-credential lifecycle revenue or gross margin. Therefore the unit economics above are necessarily model-based rather than filing-based.


Disconfirming Evidence

The digital-credential lifecycle economics thesis would be substantially weakened or invalidated if any of the following occurs:

  1. Wallet platforms treat digital credentials as pure cost centers and never disclose per-verification or per-credential revenue, confirming that the credential itself has no independent unit economics.
  2. Standards fragmentation persists between ISO/IEC 18013-5 and W3C VC, forcing issuers to run parallel issuance stacks and eliminating scale economies (https://www.iso.org/standard/69084.html; https://www.w3.org/TR/vc-data-model/).
  3. Revocation and liability costs exceed fraud savings for high-assurance credentials, making government issuers slow or stop issuance.
  4. A material breach of an mDL or verifiable-credential wallet causes regulators to impose restrictions or re-issue requirements, raising cost and destroying trust.
  5. US state adoption stalls or the EU Digital Identity Wallet misses implementation deadlines, showing that mandate-driven demand is weaker than expected (https://eur-lex.europa.eu/eli/reg/2024/1183/oj).
  6. Public company filings continue not to disclose credential-unit revenue or gross margin, leaving no primary-source basis to validate the investment case.

01

Mapped companies

Public and private companies referenced in this research, linked to their canonical PXS Research profiles.

CompanyMarketResearch roleCurrent state
Leidos Holdings, Inc. (LDOS)PublicDefense IT SystemsHOLD · reviewed

Sources

43 cited sources used to define and evaluate this capability.

  1. ir.clearme.comInvestor RelationsOpen source ↗
  2. intellicheck.comInvestor RelationsOpen source ↗
  3. miteksystems.comInvestor RelationsOpen source ↗
  4. investor.okta.comInvestor RelationsOpen source ↗
  5. microsoft.comInvestor RelationsOpen source ↗
  6. investor.apple.comInvestor RelationsOpen source ↗
  7. abc.xyzInvestor RelationsOpen source ↗
  8. investors.transunion.comInvestor RelationsOpen source ↗
  9. investor.equifax.comInvestor RelationsOpen source ↗
  10. investors.leidos.comInvestor RelationsOpen source ↗
  11. investor.caci.comInvestor RelationsOpen source ↗
  12. investors.boozallen.comInvestor RelationsOpen source ↗
  13. sec.govSEC filingOpen source ↗
  14. sec.govSEC filingOpen source ↗
  15. sec.govSEC filingOpen source ↗
  16. sec.govSEC filingOpen source ↗
  17. ir.clearme.comCompany IROpen source ↗
  18. w3.orghttps://www.w3.org/TR/vc-data-model/`Open source ↗
  19. doi.orghttps://doi.org/10.6028/NIST.SP.800-63-3`Open source ↗
  20. patents.google.comhttps://patents.google.com/patent/US10242372B2/en`Open source ↗
  21. sec.govhttps://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0000320193&type=10-K&dateb=&owner=include&count=40`Open source ↗
  22. ir.clearme.comhttps://ir.clearme.com/`Open source ↗
  23. iso.orghttps://www.iso.org/standard/69084.html`Open source ↗
  24. iso.orghttps://www.iso.org/standard/69084.htmlOpen source ↗
  25. dhs.govhttps://www.dhs.gov/sites/default/files/2024-03/2024_0309_management_directorate.pdfOpen source ↗
  26. federalregister.govhttps://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/03/16/2020-04979/privacy-act-of-1974-system-of-recordsOpen source ↗
  27. investors.leidos.comhttps://investors.leidos.com/financial-information/annual-reports-proxy-statements/Open source ↗
  28. doi.orghttps://doi.org/10.6028/NIST.SP.800-63-3Open source ↗
  29. w3.orghttps://www.w3.org/TR/vc-data-model/Open source ↗
  30. doi.orghttps://doi.org/10.1145/3230833.3230855Open source ↗
  31. apple.comhttps://www.apple.com/newsroom/2022/03/apple-launches-first-drivers-license-and-state-id-in-wallet-with-arizona/Open source ↗
  32. tsa.govhttps://www.tsa.gov/digital-idOpen source ↗
  33. doi.orghttps://doi.org/10.1016/j.cosrev.2018.10.002`Open source ↗
  34. apple.comhttps://www.apple.com/wallet/`Open source ↗
  35. developers.google.comhttps://developers.google.com/wallet`Open source ↗
  36. w3.orghttps://www.w3.org/TR/did-core/`Open source ↗
  37. learn.microsoft.comhttps://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/entra/verified-id/`Open source ↗
  38. sec.govhttps://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0000789019&type=10-K&dateb=&owner=include&count=40`Open source ↗
  39. sec.govhttps://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0001660134&type=10-K&dateb=&owner=include&count=40`Open source ↗
  40. sec.govhttps://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0001652044&type=10-K&dateb=&owner=include&count=40`Open source ↗
  41. w3.orghttps://www.w3.org/TR/did-core/Open source ↗
  42. eur-lex.europa.euhttps://eur-lex.europa.eu/eli/reg/2024/1183/ojOpen source ↗
  43. eur-lex.europa.euhttps://eur-lex.europa.eu/eli/reg/2024/1183/oj`Open source ↗
The weekly brief

Get a weekly digest of what’s changing.

Research updates, thesis changes and company developments. One email a week.